Passengers Movie Review – No Spoilers! (Will Leave You Asking For a Sequel) 

Hey guys!

So originally I received an email from the Regal Crown Club offering me 2 free tickets to see A Dog’s Purpose as a reward for my loyalty. I have been a Crown Club member since I was 13 years old. I was excited for the chance to see the movie for free because I had seen the trailer and it looked like a really good movie that may be a tad bit of a tear jerker. I decided to claim the reward and make it a date night with my boyfriend!

The movie was scheduled for 7pm today and when we got to the theater, we were informed that the movie screening was full but we could go to the service desk and either get a voucher to come back and see another movie of our choice or we could choose another movie that was playing around the same time. I was bummed about a wrench being thrown into our plans but definitely understand that these things happen. I was more than satisfied with the way they handled the situation though.

Since we were already there and had reserved the night for our date, we decided to pick something that was playing. The man at the desk listed all of the movies and times they were playing and my boyfriend had heard of the movie Passengers. I hadn’t seen the trailer but took a leap of faith because I am a movie lover and would be satisfied with pretty much anything.

I didn’t watch the trailer before going into the screening because I think trailers are spoilers, especially right before you sit to watch a movie. I went into this movie blind and at the end I immediately told my boyfriend that I hope there is a sequel and he felt the same way.

Small disclaimer: I am a lover of space and really like movies set in space. Interstellar is one of my all time favorites. There are some parallels between this movie and that one but not significantly. I also am a hopeless romantic and love a good love story. This movie satisfies both of those characteristics so if you can relate I DEFINITELY recommend you see this.

In case you haven’t seen a trailer, the movie takes place on a space craft that is on a voyage to a planet that can sustain life. It is the second one for people to be sent to and it takes 90 years to travel there. There are 5,000 people on the aircraft who were set to sleep with no metabolic activity and are in a pod that will wake them up with a short period of time before arrival at the homestead. There are some system malfunctions causing one of the men’s pods to wake him up early and he has to struggle with what he is going to do to save himself and the ship from destruction.

So overall, the movie has a lot of suspense, comedy and the right balance of a love story. There is moments of pain and movements of pleasure and it definitely leaves you on your toes. We got a refillable popcorn and drink and I was waiting for a down moment in the movie to sneak out to refill them but was on the edge of my seat the whole time that by the time that moment came, the movie was over. I’m not one to give away much or be a spoiler, so I will leave it with a ADAMENT recommendation that you see it. It definitely made the list of one of the best movies I have seen in a long time and I think it would be hard to find someone that wouldn’t enjoy it. As the title of this post says, you will definitely be hoping for a sequel.

I hope you guys enjoyed this brief overview and review. If you go to see the movie, I would love to hear what you thought about it in the comments! If you plan to see it, let me know about that too!

I hope you are all enjoying the beginning of 2017!

Leave a Reply

